Getting started with Python

Here are some notes (mostly to myself), listing some resources I found helpful when getting started with Python. Perhaps someday these will get converted in to a more formal document.

Things I installed:

  • Installed Anaconda Python distribution as an easy way to get NumPy, SciPy, iPython, etc.
  • Installed the TextWrangler text editor for editing code.
  • Installed PyCharm IDE, which I ended up not using.
  • Installed git and started an account at Bitbucket. I hope in the future to be more systematic about using version control.
  • Installed the pip package manager, which I have not yet needed to use (as Anaconda seems to include every package I have wanted thus far.)

Resources I found helpful:

Other interesting/helpful links:

This entry was posted in Paul learns python. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment here

